Throwback Thursday – We goin way back…

It’s Throwback Thursday….and guess what I have for you?

ME in a Tree

That’s me, 7 years ago. Hanging out in my Jacaranda Tree. Photo Cred: MacGyver

But that’s not what I have for you….This is what I have….

We’re going all the way back to 1897-1958 as I give you……

The 5 oldest marathons in US History!

The year was 1897 and the Boston Marathon made its debut in Boston, MA. The winner that year was John J McDermott from the USA and he finished in 2:55:10. The Boston Marathon has run 117 times as a marathon. In 1918 there was no official marathon and it USA military relay teams ran. Women were not officially allowed to enter the race until 1972.

The year was 1907 and the Yonkers Marathon made its debut in Yonkers, NY. The winner that year was John Hayes from New York and he finished in 2:44:45. The Yonkers Marathon has occurred 88 times. It was cancelled in September, 2011 after the bombing of the World Trade Center and was not held from 1918-1934. It is the second oldest marathon in the World.

The year was 1956 and the Pikes Peak Marathon in Manitou Springs, Co made its debut. The winner that year was Monte Wolford from Colorado and he finished in 5:39:58. Pikes Peak Marathon has run for 59 consecutive years making it the third longest running marathon in the United States. Matt Carpenter from Colorado has won this race a total of 12 times! And here’s an interesting fact: this race was started as a challenge between smokers and non-smokers, that’s crazy.

The year was 1953 and the Maui Marathon made its debut in Kaanapali, Hawaii. The winner that year was Norman K Tamanaha from Hawaii and he finished in 2:51:35. This race has been held for 58 years. The race was not held from 1959-1961. The Maui Marathon has been through many changes over the years and though not as large as the Honolulu Marathon, it is still the oldest running marathon in Hawaii. In 1953 through 1970 the race was held on Oahu and called the Hawaiian AAU Marathon. In 1971 the race was officially moved to Maui and known as the Hawaiian Marathon as well as the Norman Tamanaha Marathon. In 1977 this race became known officially as the Maui Marathon and has been ever since.

The year was 1958 and the Long Island Marathon made its debut. The winner that year was Ted Corbitt from New York and he finished in 2:41:49. The Long Island Marathon has run for 57 consecutive years. The inaugural race was called the Macombs Dam Park Marathon. In 1959-1970 the race was held in the Bronx and known as the Cherry Tree Marathon. It was moved to Central Park in until 1973 and called the Earth Day Marathon. After the 1973 race, it was moved to Long Island and the course has changed a few times since then but since 1978 it has been known as the Long Island Marathon.

And there you have it, the 5 oldest marathons in the United States!

Have you run any of them?

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – We goin way back…

  1. Wow, you really went waaay back! Looks like you did some research!
    I thought I read the Pikes Peak Marathon winners time wrong.. 5 hours and 39 minutes?! And he won? That’s crazy! Awesome that he did it, but still crazy he won with that time. Boy have things changed! Running is such a huge sport now. Its addicting and nothing compares to it! 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *